New York governor signs bill that provides death benefits to families of frontline workers

A view of the Roque de Agando in La Gomera, in Spain's Canary Islands.
A view of the Roque de Agando in La Gomera, in Spain’s Canary Islands. Dan Kitwood/Getty Images

The Spanish government said Saturday that it would further relax coronavirus restrictions in certain areas from Monday.

Four islands will lead the way by embarking on phase 3 of the government’s de-escalation plan, the government said. They are La Gomera, El Hierro and La Graciosa, in the Canaries, and Formentera, in the Balearic islands — all well-known tourist destinations in Spain.

Phase 3 seeks to allow a transition into relatively normal activities, including attending cinemas, theaters, restaurants and circuses, as long as establishments limit capacity. People may sit by the bar and there won’t be time restrictions by age group any more.

However, most of the islands in both archipelagos will remain on phase 2, together with 70% of mainland Spain, which is expected to remain on phase 2 until June 8. 

Some relaxation of measures was announced Saturday for those regions under phase 2: indoor sporting venues are allowed to open at very limited capacity with rigorous hygiene protocols. Swimming pools may open at very limited capacity, with a two-meter requirement between swimmers. 

The government also offered some respite for a number of regions still under phase 1, including capital city Madrid. Residents will be allowed visits to parks and restricted indoor sports activities. Open-air terraces are also allowed to reopen but not at full capacity.