South Australia scraps July 20 border reopening with Victoria amid coronavirus spike

South Australia will not reopen its borders to Victoria on July 20 as previously announced.

Premier Steven Marshall said the decision was due to ongoing coronavirus outbreaks in Victoria. 

South Australia’s transition committee is still considering reopening the borders to the ACT and New South Wales sooner and will provide an update later this week.

The state has already opened its borders to Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Tasmania and Queensland.

South Australia recorded three new cases of coronavirus yesterday — the first cases in more than a month.

All three cases were people repatriated from overseas and are in quarantine.

More to come.